Greek Football Championships

soccer ball

In the first Greek Football Championship that took place in 1927-28, only three football teams participated: Aris, Ethnikos, Atromitos of Athens, the champions of Thessaloniki, Piraeus and Athens respectively. This system worked till 1930.

Greek Football Championship of 1930-31 , which started in January 31, 1930, the eight best football teams from Athens, Piraeus and Thessaloniki participated (by decision of the Executive Board of Greek Football Federation). In this Championship the following teams participated: Panathinaikos, AEK, Apollon, Olympiakos, Ethnikos, PAOK, Aris and Iraklis. This system worked till 1939-40.

In the 1928-29 season, no Football Championship was organized, due to severe financial difficulties and in 34-35, the Football Championship began but didn΄t reach completion. The reason was the fact that our country had undertaken the organization of the 4th Balkan Football Cup.

During the B΄ World War all athletic activities having to do with football ceased. In 1945-46 the Football championship starts again in the form of «city championship» and finals between the first three football teams of Athens, Piraeus and Thessaloniki. The only novelty during these years is the fact that football teams from provincial towns join in too, in an effort to create the Greek National Division in a very first version.

From 1959-60, A΄ Football Division starts out (sometimes with 16 and sometimes with 18 teams) and, from 1979-80 we enter the Professional Football Championship period.

From 1979-1980 till 1982-83, in the professional A΄ Football Division 18 teams participated whilst from 1983-84 till 1988-89, 16 teams did.

From 1989-90 till 2000-01, 18 football teams participated.

Finally, in 2001-02, 14 football teams joined in, while 16 teams joined in the football championships of 2002-03, 2003-2004 and 2004-2005.

Read more about Football In Greece

Greece Index