National Technical University of Athens

national technical university of athens

The National Technical University in Athens (NTUA) is the oldest and most prestigious educational institution of Greece in the field of technology, and has contributed unceasingly to the country’s scientific, technical and economic development since its foundation in 1836.

It is closely linked with Greece’s struggle for independence, democracy and social progress.

In Greek, NTUA is called the “Ethnicon Metsovion Polytechnion” which stands for National Metsovion Polytechnic. It was named “Metsovion” to honor the donors and benefactors Nikolaos Stournaris, Eleni Tositsa, Michail Tositsas and Georgios Averof, all from Metsovo, a small town in the region of Epirus, who made substantial donations in the last half of the 19th century.

National Technical University of Athens is divided into nine academic Schools, eight being for the engineering sciences, including architecture, and one for the general sciences. The personnel of the nine Faculties include more than 700 people as academic staff, 140 scientific assistants and 260 administrative and technical staff. The total number of National Technical University of Athens employees is about 1350. The total number of undergraduate students is about 8500 and the graduate students 1500. There nine Faculties are divided into 33 Departments.

The nine schools of National Technical Univcersity of Athens are :

  • School of Civil Engineering
  • School of Mechanical Engineer
  • School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • School of Architecture
  • School of Chemical Engineering
  • School of Rural and Surveying Engineering
  • School of Mining Engineering and Metallurgy
  • School of Applied Mathematics and Physics
  • School of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering

Read more about Universities in Greece

Read more about the National Technical University of Athens:

Greece Index