Administration of Greece

Administration of Greece

Greece is divided into 13 administrative divisions, named “Peripheries” (Districts). The next level of administrative division is the “Nomos” (Prefecture).


In total there are 51 Nomi, and one self-governed territorial division (Agion Oros, on Mount Athos).

Local Communities are named either “Dimos” (City) or “Kinotita” (Community). In total there are 900 Dimi and 133 Kinotites.

Read more about the Administration of Greece and get a clear image with the supplied map of the administrative divisions of Greece.

Read more about Cities in Greece

Greece Index