Demokritos University of Thrace

demokritos university of thrace

Demokritos University of Thrace (D.U.Th) was established in July 1973. It was named after the ancient Greek philosopher Demokritos who was born in Avdira, Thrace, an administrative district of Greece

The administration of the Demokritos University is located in Komotini, which is the seat of the administrative district of East Macedonia and Thrace.

Demokritos University of Thrace is organized in two Faculties and eighteen Departments located in four cities of Thrace – seven in Komotini, five in Xanthi, four in Alexandroupolis and two in Orestiada. A total of 12.466 undergraduate students are enrolled.

Demokritos University of Patras plays an important and effective role in establishing the national and cultural significance of Thrace and is contributing to the high level of education of the Higher Education in Greece. Through the quality of teaching and the level of research, the University has achieved a place among the leading Universities in Greece.

As an Institution of Higher Education, Demokritos University of Thrace is a Public Institution with full administrative autonomy. It is subject to state supervision via the Greek Ministry of Education and Religious Affairs, which also provides its funding.

Demokritos University of Thrace is organized in two Faculties and eighteen Departments located in four cities of Thrace:


Faculty of Engineering

  • Department of Civil Engineering
  • Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Department of Environmental Engineering
  • Department of Architectural Engineering
  • Department of Production and Management Engineering
  • System Engineering & Management – Joint Graduate Program

2. Komotini

  • Department of Law
  • Department of Physical Education and Sport Science
  • Department of History and Ethnology
  • Department of Greek Literature
  • Department of Social Administration
  • Department of International Economic Relations and Development
  • Department of Languages, Literature and Culture of the Black Sea Countries

3. Alexandroupolis

  • Department of Medicine
  • Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics

Faculty of Educational Sciences

  • Department of Primary Level Education
  • Department of Education Sciences in Pre-School Age

4. Orestiada

  • Department of Agricultural Development
  • Department of Forestry & Management of the Environment and Natural Resources

Read more about Universities in Greece

Greece Index