University of Macedonia

university of macedonia

The University of Macedonia of Economic and Social Sciences, established by Government decree No 147 of April 10 1990, has a history as an institution. It was at first formed under the name of “The Graduate School of Industrial Studies of Thessaloniki” in 1948, but it first functioned during the academic year 1957-58.

In 1958 it was renamed “Graduate Industrial School of Thessaloniki” and from 1971/72 it was divided into two Departments: Department of Economics and Department of Business Administration.

The University of Macedonia has five departments:

  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Business Administration
  • Department of International and European Economic and Political Studies
  • Department of Accounting and Finance
  • Department of Applied Informatics

Each of these Departments offers a bachelor degree (in Greek ptychion). Recently, according to the presidential decree 267/93, the Department of Educational & Social Studies was established and accepted students for the first time in autumn 1997. Finally two more departments were also established :

  • Department of Balkan, Slavonic & Oriental Studies
  • Department of Music Science & Art and accepted their first students in auto mn 1998.

There are three interdepartmental postgraduate programs according to senate decision (number 9/18-6/94).

  • Master’s in Economics from the department of Economics, Business Administration, Accounting and Finance.
  • Master’s in Business Administration from the departments of Business Administration, Accounting and Finance and Economics.
  • Master’s in Information Systems from the departments of Economics, Business Administration, Accounting and Finance, International and European Economic and Political Studies.

Read more about Universities in Greece

Read more about the University of Macedonia:

Greece Index