University of Crete

university of crete

The University of Crete is a multidisciplinary, research – oriented Institution, situated in the cities of Rethymnon and Heraklion.

It is a University with a well-known reputation both nationally and internationally, with state-of-the art curricula and graduate programmes, considerable research activity and initiatives that reflect its dynamic character.

University of Crete was established in 1973. Today, approximately 10628 students attend the University. The University’s staff consists of 580 Teaching and Research Staff members. Its’ operation is supported by more than 400 administrative staff.

The University of Crete is developed in two cities and three campuses:

  • Rethymnon Faculties operate in the recently constructed University Campus, located in the area of Gallos. The buildings cover an area of approximately 30,000 square meters.
  • At Heraklion the Faculty of Health Sciences and the Departments of Physics and Biology operate in the recently constructed facilities in Voutes, in an area of 49,000 square meters (Voutes Campus).

Faculties of the University of Crete

– The following Faculties operate at Rethymnon, which is the seat of the University:

  • The Faculty of Letters consisting of the Departments: Philology, History-Archaeology, Philosophy and Social Studies.
  • The Faculty of Social Sciences consisting of the Departments: Sociology, Economics, Psychology and Political Science.
  • The Faculty of Education consisting of the Departments: Primary Education and pre-School Education.

– The following Faculties operate at Heraklion:

  • The Faculty of Science consisting of the Departments: Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology, Computer Sciences, Applied Mathematics and Material Science and Technology.
  • The Faculty of Health Sciences consisting of the Department of Medicine.

Read more about Universities in Greece

Read more about the University of Crete:

Greece Index